poetic forms / Poetry / Uncategorized

A Chatty Blitz

A Blitz Poem is a run-on of phrases and words, a rush with rapid repetition.  My friend, Joan, at Just Joan, writes a variety of poetry forms.  She recently wrote an extraordinary Blitz Poem called Blue from Running.  I am often inspired by Joan’s work and think that working outside the comfort zone can truly spark creativity.  You can read Joan’s wonderful poem here:  https://justjoan42.wordpress.com/2017/01/22/following-my-blue-blitz/    and you can read my meager offering below.  Hope everyone is having a great spring break…hopefully, it is spring where you are!

Chatty

I found it creepy, that chatty doll

dolls as vessels are not a trusted toys

trust, at best, is flimsy

Flimsy like a gauze skirt

skirt the issues these days

Days that reek

of sour wine and wilted roses

Roses mask false blooms of promise

promise poured through roundabout words

Words can’t bring things back

Back to you and

your grasping arms

Arms that might save us

save the world

World peace

peace…

27 thoughts on “A Chatty Blitz

  1. LT, bravo, o fine lines, lines the way, the way to say, o bravo, LT (sorry, I’ll stick to what I know but top marks to you having the ability to pull off something new 🙂

  2. I love it, Lana, the daisy-chain effect of the words connecting one line to the next, like a crooked path that meanders its way to clarity. I feel honored to have inspired you… and thanks for the shout out! 🙂

  3. You are a really talented writer, Lana. So versatile. Been meaning to say that for a while, I just fall behind. Wish you the best in all of your writing endeavors. 🙂

  4. I love this, Lana and can identify with the stream of consciousness running through the piece which carries the reader from an ordinary everyday object to world peace! Brilliant and hope you write more of these – I’ll give it a go this weekend for fun!

  5. Pingback: DIRT – Annika Perry's Writing Blog

  6. This is a very interesting format and one I expect is a lot harder to pull off than you make it appear.
    Like most writing, the ending becomes tricky. Which makes me think … what if you worked backwards from the ending?

    • That would be interesting for sure. I only recently learned of this form, so I’m not that well versed (no pun intended) in it. I have only recently practiced various types of poetry and mainly due to the inspiration of my friend, Joan who is a truly creative poet. I think I might have just gotten lucky that it fit together 😀 Thanks so much for reading!

  7. Hi Lana! I was happy to read your stream of consciousness poem. The way one thought leads to another was like a conversation between two people who eventually wind down and contemplate. From dolls to flimsy gauze (meaningless in content) to arms, to peace World Peace. It grew in its meaning like a snowball gathering snow. Wonderful! 🙂

    • Thanks Robin. My friend, Joan, is really good at adapting to many poetic forms. She is such an inspiration. I found this to be a great creative writing exercise. I suppose it is good to practice other types of writing. Thanks for reading 😀

  8. Pingback: Blog challenge - Trainstorming, D.G. Kaye

Leave a comment