Lifestyle / Poetry / Uncategorized

Sanctuary in Morning Glory

Lonely little alcove

second story up

at the edge of town

train whistle blasts

my memories loud

the purple morning glory

was summer’s redemption

Hodge-podge neighbors,

mixed tape we were

tuned on different tangents

this place, you know…

oven bottom ajar, off track

refrigerator too loud

the plumbing is…

an empty field is the backyard

racoons regulary visit

the penthouse view from

one big window, flimsy at best,

held strong against a violent north wind

in a bad storm, late at night

patio, five feet wide,

secluded by that engaging morning glory,

purple majesty

The old man next door

is a shut-in,

his cough echoes

ready to leave,

leave I must

This place has held me awhile,

warmth in winter’s rage,

cool in summer’s expanse

I have no claim on it

sad to say goodbye

to the part of me

that will stay bent and whispering

to purple flowers on the vine.

funnel-thread-85689_1280

11 thoughts on “Sanctuary in Morning Glory

  1. I really enjoyed this nostalgic writing piece, poetry and photograph included, Lana. I have left pieces of my favorite visuals kept in my mind to take out and treasure. I like the way you include such depth in your poems.

Leave a Reply

